2005 Soling Scottish Championships: Foxy Cockatoo wins on the Forth



Force 7 gale and breaking waves welcomed the travelling Solings to the 2005 Scottish Championships hosted by the Royal Forth Yacht Club in the City of Edinburgh.  With the wind moderating, racing was held in the scenic Forth estuary over looked by Edinburgh Castle and the Forth bridges, in surfing conditions and oscillating winds from the North East.


Bryan Bottomley’s “Foxy Cockatoo” set the pace with three firsts only after a close challenge by Chris Dodgshon’s “Goldie” in the third race holding the lead until the last lap to take second place.  With the mid fleet results mixed and all podium positions wide open on the second day the fleet were honoured with sunshine and a light breeze from the west.  The fleet split; those keeping out the tide with the other pack chasing more breeze.  Peter Mountains’ “Maverick” found the breeze to round the windward mark in the lead closely followed by Mike Preston, Bryan Bottomley and Ron Preston in “Foxy Cockatoo” who secured the first place and the 2005 Scottish Championship.


Baz Fountain in “Mr Crusty” and Chris Dodgshon won the next two races to put them in contention for podium position.  But it was Peter Hewitson and crew of Hissing Syd with consistent results across the six races that won the runners up position and the Master’s (first helm over 50) prize.


Katrina Kennedy in GBR 161 won the first lady prize in 4th place and Peter Mountain and crew were presented with bottles of wine for the most spectacular wipe out.


The British Soling Association thanked the race officer, commodore and his members of the Royal Forth Yacht Club for an excellent event where the Soling Class looks forward to returning in 2006 for their UK National Championships.


Overall Results:

1st GBR 170 Foxy Cockatoo, Bryan Bottlomey

2nd GBR 16 Hissing Syd, Peter Hewitson

3rd GBR 164 Mr Crusty, Baz Fountian

4th GBR 161 Solaris, Hamish Loudon

5th GBR 157 Goldie, Chris Dodgshon

6th GBR 154 So Long, Ken Bailey

7th GBR 144 Gerda, Dave Fish

8th GBR 162 Maverick, Peter Mountain


1st Lady: Katrina Kennedy , GBR 161

1st Masters: Peter Hewitson, GBR 16